V.A. “Wildflowers 5 (The New York Loft Jazz Sessions)”

V.A. “Wildflowers 5 (The New York Loft Jazz Sessions)”

Regular price
Sale price
Regular price
Sold out
Unit price
Tax included.
Shipping calculated at checkout.
Condition Guidelines

Various Artists
Wildflowers 5 (The New York Loft Jazz Sessions)
Douglas (LP)
sleeve : VG+(wear on edge and corner, dirts, color-faded.)
media : EX/EX(some slightly noises.)

This album was released in 1977 as the fifth installment of the "The New York Loft Jazz Sessions" series, which traces the trajectory of the loft jazz scene that flourished in New York during the 1970s. The A-side features Sunny Murray & The Untouchable Factor, with Sunny Murray on drums, David Murray on tenor sax, Byard Lancaster on alto sax and flute, Khan Jamal on vibes, and Fred Hopkins on bass. The B-side showcases a bassless trio performance by members of the Art Ensemble of Chicago, including Roscoe Mitchell on alto sax, Jerome Cooper on percussion, saw, and drums, and Don Moye on drums. Both sessions were recorded in May 1976 at Studio Rivbea in New York. These recordings are characterized by explosive and intense interplay, delivering a surge of avant-garde jazz that is truly remarkable on both sides.

A: Sunny Murray & The Untouchable Factor “Somethiing’s Cookin’
B: Roscoe Mitchell “Chant”

Open drop down